Cayman Islands Visa

Cayman Islands Visa

Cayman Islands Visa

Cayman Islands Visa Information:
 The Cayman Islands are a British overseas territory located in the western Caribbean Sea, comprising the islands of Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman. It is a global offshore financial services centre and one of the leading tourist scuba diving destinations in the world.  
 Nestled in the calm, turquoise waters of the western Caribbean, lies the peaceful British Overseas Territory known as the Cayman Islands. Consisting of three islands just 480 miles south of Miami, Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac, and Little Cayman remain our little piece of paradise.


1. A visa must be produced upon landing in the Cayman Islands by nationals of all countries except the following:

(a) a country within the British Commonwealth of nations, with the exception of-

(i)    Nigeria

(ii)    Pakistan

(iii)    Bangladesh

(iv)    India

(v)   Ghana

(vi)   Cameroon

(vii)   Gambia

(viii)   Sri Lanka

(ix)   Sierra Leone

  • Uganda
  • Jamaica (added  01-Nov-2005)

(b) any of the following countries:

Andorra Italy
Argentina Japan
Austria Kuwait
Bahrain Liechtenstein
Belgium Luxembourg
Brazil Mexico
Chile Monaco
China (People’s Republic) provided holding Hong Kong (SAR China) passports Netherlands Norway
Denmark Oman
Ecuador Panama
Finland Peru
France Portugal
Germany San Marino
Greece Spain
Iceland Sweden
Irish Republic Switzerland
Israel United States of America


(2)  A person who is not a prohibited immigrant* and satisfies an immigration officer that he is:

   (i) authorised by a work permit to work in the Cayman Islands

   (ii) a person named in a work permit as a dependant of the licensee

(iii) a person who is exempted from the requirement to possess a work permit or a     dependant of such a person

   (iv) a person who has permission to reside permanently in the Cayman Islands

   (v) the holder of a valid re-entry permit

   is not required to produce a visa on entering the Cayman Islands.

* Prohibited immigrants are defined in full in the Immigration Law 2003 but include the destitute, the mentally disordered, persons creating health hazards to the community, anyone reasonably believed to be a prostitute or living on prostitution, anyone previously deported, anyone convicted in any country of an offence for which a prison sentence of twelve months or more was imposed, and others declared to be undesirable immigrants for economic or moral reasons.

(3)    A transit passenger who is a national of any of the following countries is required to have a visa upon arrival in the Islands:

Afghanistan Liberia
Albania Macedonia (F.Y.R. of)
Algeria Moldova (Republic of)
Angola Nepal
Bangladesh Nigeria
Belarus Pakistan
Burma (Myanmar) Palestinian Territories
Burundi Rwanda
Cameroon Saudi Arabia
China (People’s Republic of) Senegal
Colombia Serbia & Montenegro
Congo Dem. Republic (Zaire) Sierra Leone
Ecuador Somalia
Eritrea Sri Lanka
Ethiopia Sudan
Gambia Turkey
Ghana Turkish Rep. of Northern Cyprus
India Uganda
Iran Vietnam
Iraq Yugoslavia
Ivory Coast Zimbabwe


Persons requiring a visa for entry into or transit through the Cayman Islands must apply to the nearest British Embassy or Consulate that has a visa section. Note: nationals of Cuba and Honduras must apply to the British Embassy in Havana and the Cayman Islands Visa Office in La Ceiba respectively.  Jamaican nationals living in Jamaica are required to apply at the Cayman Islands Visa Office on Dominica Drive, New Kingston.

The link below will take you to the page on the Foreign and Commonwealth Office website that lists, by country, all of the UK’s overseas missions. Each entry gives contact details and, where available, links to the website for each mission. Please contact the Embassy or Consulate directly to obtain an application form and details of fees etc.

Click here for Cayman Islands Visa Information